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Acting Commissioner

The New Jersey Department of Human Services invites you to apply for the following position:

JoB POSTING NUMBER | 533-21

TmE Home Instructor, Commission for the Blind and IssUE DATE | 5/3/21 CLosING DATE | 5/17/21
Visually Impaired
NJ Commission for the Blind and Visually RANGE P18

LOCATION ;rgga";:gey Street, 5" floor SALARY $47,810.88— $67,426.47
Newark, NJ 07102 OPEN TO Public

Under close supervision of a supervisory official in the Commission for the Blind and Visually Impaired, Department of Human
DerINITION | Services, does the field instruction, provides advice, and makes appropriate referrals to help newly blinded persons adjust to the loss
of vision; does other related duties.

REQUIREMENTS

EDUCATION | Graduation from an accredited college or university with a Bachelor's Degree.

EXPERIENCE| One (1) year of experience in providing instruction or other social services to the blind.

Applicants who do not possess the required education may substitute additional experience as indicated on a year — for — year basis
with thirty (30) semester hour credits being equal to one (1) year of experience.

NOTE SPECIAL NOTE: Appointees will be required to successfully pass a Braille assessment test, administered by the Commission for the
Blind and Visually Impaired.

SPECIAL SKILL: Appointees must be able to read and teach Braille.

NOTE FOR Degrees and/or transcripts issued by a college or university outside of the United States must be evaluated by a reputable evaluation
FOREIGN service at your expense. The evaluation must be included with your submission. Failure to submit the required evaluation may result in
DEGREES an ineligibility determination.

Appointees will be required to possess a driver’s license valid in New Jersey only if the operation of a vehicle, rather than employee

LICENSE mobility, is necessary to perform the essential duties of the position.
IMPORTANT NOTICE
Effective 9/1/11, NJ PL 70 (NJ First Act), requires all State employees to reside in New Jersey, unless exempted under the law, or
current employees who live out-of-state and do not have a break-in service of more than 7 calendar days, as they are “grandfathered.”
RESIDENCY New employees or current employees who were not grandfathered and who live out-of-state have one year after the date of

employment to relocate their residence to New Jersey or request an exemption. Current employees who reside in NJ must retain NJ
residency, unless he/she obtains an exemption. Employees who fail to meet the residency requirements or obtain an exemption will be
removed from employment.

NoTE Applicable special re-employment list established as a result of a layoff will be used before any promotions are made.

If you are a candidate for a position that involves direct client care in one of the Department of Human Services’ hospitals or
developmental centers, you may be subject to pre and/or post-employment drug testing/ screening. The cost of any pre-employment
testing will be at your expense. Candidates with a positive drug test result or those who refuse to be tested and/or cooperate with the
testing requirement will not be hired. You will be advised if the position for which you’re being considered requires drug testing and how
to proceed with the testing.

FILING INSTRUCTIONS

Forward a cover letter and resume electronically to: Cbvi.Postings@dhs.nj.gov
You must include the Job Posting # in the subject line of your email.

DRUG
SCREENING

New Jersey Department of Human Services is an Equal Opportunity Employer



